The Danish Think Tank – Libraries of the Future

The ambition is to produce knowledge, analysis and cross-disciplinary activities. To generate professional, public and political debate and awareness of the role of libraries now and in the future.


A bottom-up initiative

The Danish libraries face many challenges such as digitalization and changes in expectations and demands on both physical and digital services; lack of public awareness of library services, changes in library user behavior, lack of political awareness and changes in the role of the librarian. The Think Tank was initiated by the Danish Library Association (DB).

The Think Tank was established in October 2012, and it is co-financed by the participating libraries, library organizations and central library players. Many activities are externally funded, amongst other by the Danish Agency for Culture.

The ambition is to generate new knowledge, analysis and professional, public and political debate about the role of the libraries now and in the future, and hereby contribute to reinventing of the library as one of the major democratic and cultural welfare actors in Denmark.

Participating libraries & library players

The Think Tank is supported by and collaborates with more than 30 public libraries, private companies and library organisations, which all participate in and contribute to our activities: studies, workshops, debates, networks and conferences. We are founded and hosted by The Danish Library Association in Copenhagen.

Public libraries from the following municipalities work with and support the Think Tank:

Albertslund Municipality · Allerød Municipality · Ballerup Municipality · Esbjerg Municipality · Municipality of Frederiksberg · Frederikssund Municipality · Municipality of Ikast-Brande · Gladsaxe Municipality · Municipality of Glostrup · Hjørring Municipality · Holbæk Municipality · Horsens Municipality · Kolding Municipality · København Municipality · The Municipality of Køge · Lyngby Taarbæk Municipality · Næstved Municipality · Odense Municipality · Randers Municipality · Roskilde Municipality · SDU · Silkeborg Municipality· Slagelse Municipality · Danish County Library of Southern Schleswig · Stevns Municipality · Sønderborg Municipality · Taarnby Municipality · Varde Municipality · Vejle Municipality · Viborg Municipality · Aabenraa Municipality · Aalborg Municipality · The Municipality of Aarhus

Library organisations (and members of the steering committee):

Association of Danish Public Library Managers · The Danish Library Association (founder) · The Royal School of Library and Information Science · Association of Research Libraries · Danish Union of Librarians

Private companies

Moos-Bjerre Analysis


Lotte Hviid Dhyrbye
Phone: +45 27631494